those who inspire us: Kim D

Each of my friends inspires me in their own way. Some inspire me to be more thoughtful. Some inspire me to be more positive. And others inspire me to be more adventurous and outgoing. My friend Kim inspires me to be all of these things because she is all of these things – thoughtful, adventurous & outgoing, and infectiously positive & optimistic. I could literally go on and on about how I love Kim and her friendship (as, I’m sure, all of her friends could) but I’ll let Kim do the “talking” in this post as she answers some of our standard Q’s!

Is the glass 1/2 full or 1/2 empty?  The realist part of me says it’s both, but life is what you make of it, so I would have to say 1/2 full.   I like to think that if it’s my glass in which case I enjoyed the first half with abandon and will savor and relish that yet to come.

What makes you happy?   My honey.  Genuine, real friends.  Travel.  Exploring.  The big and small spectacles of nature.  The crash of ocean waves, the gurgling of a creek.  A great read.  Crossing the finish line.  Lazing on the beach in the sunshine.  Dins and bevs with buds.  Bare feet in the grass.  How happy our dog is to see me, no matter what has happened that day.  Great food, great wine, great friends.  Golf at sunrise.  The beach at sunset.  A great outdoor concert.  Any chance I get to breathe underwater.   Surprisingly, an organized closet.

What do you value most in other people? Genuine-ness, not sure if that’s a real word.   I so appreciate people who are real, and especially credit those who are able to put themselves in other people’s shoes and not just see but understand and feel their point of view.

What inspires you? I had to think about this a lot.  Nature inspires me to get out there and do things.   Travel for sure; there is nothing like the feeling I get when landing in a foreign destination…I can’t wait to breathe everything in!   I think ultimately for me it’s about change.  As a somewhat steadfast Taurus, change hasn’t always come easily but I’ve learned to embrace and celebrate it as much as I can.  One of the best instances was our decision to make the move to Toronto.  The city is so inspiring and I made it my mission to really get out there and experience all it has to offer. I actually have list…seriously!   And such great new friends I’ve made!

What are you passionate about? A fantastic cup of coffee.  Great style.  Added value.  That good manners and respectfulness can go a really really long way. Choosing local and organic whenever possible. Literacy. Animal welfare.

How do you overcome life’s challenges? A friend once told me to think of an obstacle not as a problem,  but as an opportunity for growth.  As difficult as it is, taking that deep breath, and putting one foot in front of the other.  Ask for help when you need it, and accept it when offered.

What is the best advice you ever received?  Hmmm… Don’t sweat the small stuff.  I am the first to admit that I sometimes make things a bigger deal than they are.   For me it’s more about recognizing the small stuff for what it is…then choosing whether or not it’s worth worrying about.

If you could live anywhere in the world for 1 year, where would it be? I think it would be too hard to decide, can I choose to travel for the year? :)

If you could have a room full of one thing, what would it be? Friends & family.

What’s your favourite quote?  Be the change you wish to see in the world – Ghandi

What’s your favourite sound?  The sound of the ocean, for sure.

What’s your favourite hobby?  I think it might be window-shopping…is that bad?  I could grab a coffee and browse for hours.  And when we’re traveling there is nothing like visiting the local markets.

What’s your favourite book?  One of my current faves is Garth Stein’s “The Art of Racing in the Rain”.  It’s a really touching story of the bond between a man and his dog…told from the dog’s perspective.   Amazing.

www.garthstein.com/arr/

Finish this sentence: “if I had a day all to myself, I would….  Thoroughly, wholeheartedly enjoy it.

Leave a Reply

