tap into your imagination

Most of my childhood years were spent playing make believe.    I would use blankets over furniture to create tents in which I lived imaginary adventures.   Visiting the dentist’s office would inspire me to play receptionist, taking calls and scribbling appointments in my calendar.    My brother and I would wear horse riding helmets and use our living room couch as an imaginary horse.  Whether it was things I read about in books or roles I saw adults play in real life, there was no shortage of inspiration and no limit to my imagination. 

Somehow as I grew older, like everyone else, I found less and less use for my imagination.   Why is it that adults are expected to be serious and “realistic” all the time?   I believe that a lot of good can come from play and creativity.   And some of the most imaginative people in history agree with me on this.   I hope you enjoy the following quotes and that they inspire you to tap into your own powerful imagination.

“All children are artists. The problem is how to remain an artist once he grows up.”  ~ Pablo Picasso

“Your imagination is your preview of life’s coming attractions.”  ~ Albert Einstein

“Logic will get you from A to B.   Imagination will take you everywhere.” ~ Albert Einstein

Photos sourced from Getty Images

Comments
3 Responses to “tap into your imagination”
  1. Wanda Whisman says:

    There is nothing like being around children to spark your imagination. Kaitlin and now Brewer allows me to view things in a new light.

  2. janehinrichs says:

    Love this. I’m presently writing a column on Imagination for The Capital Journal (Pierre, SD). I love these quotes from Einstein! Oh, that we all would let our imaginations fly!

Leave a Reply

